Journey to the Top: Discover the Hajime no Ippo Watch Order

Looking to Watch Hajimo no Ippo but can’t understand where to start? Don’t worry; our Hajime no Ippo watch order list will help you with what to watch & where to start reading or watching.

Hajime no Ippo Watch Order

Hajime no Ippo, an iconic sports anime, has been a fan favorite since its debut in 2000. The series is based on George Morikawa’s manga and follows Makunouchi Ippo, a young, timid high school student who finds a passion for boxing. The show is praised for its compelling plot, well-developed characters, and realistic depiction of the sport. It is extremely important to follow the proper Hajime no Ippo watch order, which we will discuss in this article, to enjoy the series fully. 

Hajime no Ippo watch order List

  1. Hajime no Ippo: The Fighting! (Season 1) – 75 episodes
  2. Hajime no Ippo: Boxer no Kobushi (TV Special) – 1 episode
  3. Hajime no Ippo: Champion Road (TV Special) – 1 episode 
  4. Hajime no Ippo: Mashiba vs. Kimura (OVA) – 1 episode 
  5. Hajime no Ippo: New Challenger (Season 2) – 26 episodes 
  6. Hajime no Ippo: Rising (Season 3) – 25 episodes    

To enjoy Hajime no Ippo to the fullest, follow this complete watch order

Hajime no Ippo watch orderRelease Date (By Year)Episodes
Hajime no Ippo: The Fighting! (Season 1)2000-200275
Hajime no Ippo: Boxer no Kobushi (TV Special)20031
Hajime no Ippo: Champion Road (TV Special)20031
Hajime no Ippo: Mashiba vs. Kimura (OVA)20031
Hajime no Ippo: New Challenger (Season 2)200926
Hajime no Ippo: Rising (Season 3)2013-201425
Watch Order of Hajime no Ippo

Hajime no Ippo watch order Season wise:

1. Hajime no Ippo: The Fighting! (2000-2002)

The first season comprises 75 episodes. It introduces the protagonist, Makunouchi Ippo, who starts his boxing career under the guidance of veteran coach Kamogawa Genji. This season is about Ippo’s development as a boxer, his early fights, and the friendships he makes along the road. 

2. Hajime no Ippo: New Challenger (2009)

The second season comprises 26 episodes. It continues Ippo’s journey in the boxing world, diving into his new obstacles and rivalries. The season also follows Ippo’s friends and fellow boxers Takamura Mamoru, Aoki Masaru, and Kimura Tatsuya as they try to achieve their dreams. 

3. Hajime no Ippo: Rising (2013-2014)

The third and latest season has a total of 25 episodes. While pushing their limits, Ippo and his companions confront new adversaries and personal struggles. The season contains some of the most intense and memorable encounters in the series’ history.

OVA/Specials Watch Order:

1. Hajime no Ippo: Boxer no Kobushi (2003)

It begins with a tale, a story that will break your heart. After you finish the original series, the next stage is to get this installment. This special episode discusses Takamura’s origins in boxing and how it became popular among fans. We will learn more about this character, which is why it is so important for the audience and even the characters who perform their parts.

2. Hajime no Ippo: Champion Road (2003)

Watch the TV show Hajime no Ippo: Champion Road after finishing the first season. This 90-minute special is a bridging episode between the first and second seasons. It follows Ippo as he protects his Japanese Featherweight Championship title against a tough opponent in Sanada Kazuki. 

3. Hajime no Ippo: Mashiba vs. Kimura (2003)

Watch the OVA (Original Video Animation) Hajime no Ippo: Mashiba vs Kimura before digging into the second season. This 60-minute OVA follows Mashiba Ryo and Kimura Tatsuya, two secondary characters, competing in an intense battle. The OVA adds to the Hajime no Ippo experience by providing crucial insight into their backgrounds and motivations.


Hajime no Ippo is a fantastic sports anime that perfectly depicts the essence of boxing and athletes’ physical and mental challenges. Viewers can completely immerse themselves in Ippo’s journey by following the Hajime no Ippo watch the order in this guide, witnessing his growth as a boxer and the development of the characters around him.

Whether you enjoy boxing, anime, or both, Hajime no Ippo provides a thrilling experience filled with intense fights, emotional storylines, and well-developed characters. This detailed Hajime no Ippo watch order guide will get you ready to start on an unforgettable voyage with Makunouchi Ippo and his fellow boxers.

So suit up, enter the ring, and watch Hajime no Ippo’s inspiring tale of determination, friendship, and passion. With 127 episodes spread across three seasons, the series has plenty of material to keep fans interested for a long time. The OVAs and TV specials enrich the experience by providing additional context and expanding on the tales of secondary characters.

Look no further than Hajime no Ippo for a sports anime that skillfully blends action, drama, and character development. Its realistic portrayal of the sport and its athletes and the emotional depth of its narrative has won it a devoted fan following and cemented its status as a genre classic. As you embark on this exhilarating journey, follow the Hajime no Ippo watch order guide to ensure you get the most out of this fantastic series. Happy viewing, and enjoy the thrill of Hajime no Ippo!  

Where to Watch or Read Hajime no Ippo online?

Hajime no Ippo can be streamed through many platforms according to countries like Crunchyroll, which will serve the series in North America, Central America, South America, Europe, Africa, the Middle East, Oceania, and India.

  1. Crunchyroll
  2. Hulu Japan
  3. RetroCrush
  4. Amazon Japan
  5. VRV

Now available on Netflix as well.

Stay connected with us for more anime’s Watch Order list & latest anime updates with release dates.

You may also like